Reading Department Information

The Matthew Thornton Reading Department is comprised of Ms. Kelly Sarbaugh, Mrs. Joanne Stottlar, Mrs. Lisa Jones, and Mrs. Erin Chinni. Our role as reading teachers is to work closely with the classroom and special education teachers to provide additional reading instruction for students in small groups. We are looking forward to working with your children.


Special Events (more information will follow)

Monthly contests

Read Across America

Freeze and Read

Battle of the Books

Story Hour

Books and Beyond Award Assembly

Helpful links

Sight Words  has both lists and flash cards

Author Sites for Dav Pilkey  for Mo Willems  for Jeff Kinney  for Mary Pope Osborne

Common Cores Standards/ "I Can" Statements